Home Forums Random A Quick Welcome to New Members

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Benjamin
    Keymaster

I know many in this community have been around for 12+ years. I personally know many of you and have had probably hours and hours of conversations with a number of you. But I also know there are always people coming into the community, so I thought I would offer this thread as a way to share something about yourself, what name you "normally" go by in the chat room, what type of projects you do, and any other random facts that people may or may not know about you.

Please know that this is purely voluntary and you don't have to put anything in this thread.

I'll start...

I've been around the WordPress world since BEFORE the fork. In fact, I knew Matt Mullenweg when he was still working at a desk at cNet. Over the years, I've worked in the video game industry and I've been a volunteer firefighter/paramedic for a number of years. I absolutely love finding new skills and tools and then sharing those ideas with the community. I'm a firm believer that any complex skill/task can be broken down and explained in multiple methods and because of that I believe anyone can learn to code. I've been a part of massive web builds, but the enjoyable part is when I get to build tools that help accomplish a task. I'm a self-taught coder that isn't afraid to break the internet live on a webinar. (I'll never forget actually causing the FBI website to experience problems because of their DNS routing issues we accidentally discovered live on the air.)

BG
    Participant

Hi all, my name is Birgit Gerling. In chat rooms with international participants, you usually see me as "BG" (for at least 15 years) simply because I got tired of hearing my name mispronounced in so many different ways, without having a chance to correct it.